Using Astrology to Predict the Number of Children One Will Have

August 14, 2013 at 2:01 am 14 comments

by Milky Way Maid

One of the most popular questions in any astrological life reading consultation is how many children one is likely to have.

The best technique I have seen to handle this question is one promoted by prominent astrologer Carol Rushman. We will take a few charts and see how her method works.

The method is as follows:

1- Assuming you have drawn up an accurate birth chart, look to the fifth house of children. Determine the traditional ruler of the sign on the cusp of the fifth house.

Note that we will use the traditional rulers, although in the case of signs that have gained a modern ruling planet with the discovery of more planets in our solar system, we will of course try using the new ruler to see what that yields.

This means that the ruler we will use for Pisces is Jupiter, for Aquarius is Saturn, and for Scorpio is Mars.

2- Determine how many planets that ruler is APPLYING to. For the purposes of this exercise, we use only the classical aspects of conjunction, sextile, square, trine and opposition. Do not count the semi-sextile or inconjunct.

So, for example, if the ruler of the fifth house is Venus at 10 degrees Cancer, and it is applying to a sextile to Mercury in Virgo, a square to Jupiter in Libra, a trine to Pluto in Scorpio, and an opposition to Saturn in Capricorn, then that would mean a potential for four children.

Rushman feels that with the prevalence of birth control and other methods, people may not elect to fulfill the potential for all the children promised in a chart, but the potential is nevertheless there. Another astrologer feels that birth control has little effect on the number of children actually produced, because prevailing economic conditions will have more influence.

3- There is a second system if for some reason it is difficult to make a determination using the first two steps. That is to see how many planets are in the native’s fifth house; each planet will in some way represent one of the native’s children. Three planets in the fifth? Then probably three kids –potentially. If one has Jupiter in the fifth, then there may be any number of children.

At any rate, this is a very simple system to use, so let’s look at a few charts and see how they work.

First up is the chart that started a recent discussion between myself and another astrologer on the subject – for Ringo Starr.

Starr’s birth time is given as 12:05 am BST in Liverpool, England on July 7, 1940. This yields a chart with a very late degree of Pisces rising, and Cancer on the cusp of the fifth house. The Moon is also in the fifth house, incidentally, at 4 degrees of Leo. It applies to five planets: a conjunction to Mercury at 5 Leo, squares to Jupiter at 10 Taurus and Saturn at 12 Taurus and Uranus at 24 Taurus, and a sextile to Venus at 29 Gemini. He had three children with wife Maureen before they divorced. He and Barbara Bach decided to remain childless in his second marriage.

This would seem to be a miss, but note that Barbara Bach had two children from her previous marriage. Her children become his whether or not he formally adopts them. Her oldest was only 13 when she married Ringo. Three plus two equals five in my book.

Let’s take another public figure. Princess Diana of Wales was born on July 1, 1961 in Sandringham, England at 7:45 pm. This gives 18 Sagittarius rising and the fifth house is Taurus. Ruler Venus is at 24 Taurus, applying to a square to the Moon at 25 Aquarius, and a trine to Saturn at 27 Capricorn. As is well known, she had two boys, William and Harry.

Let us also take the case of a non-celebrity female born Feb. 23, 1949. The ascendant is in the latter half of Sagittarius, making Taurus the fifth-house. The ruler, Venus at 21 Aquarius, makes just one applying trine to Uranus at 26 Gemini. She had just one child before divorcing. Venus makes an applying semi-sextile, but this is not counted in this system.

Let’s look at someone where we do not yet know how many children he will ultimately have. Prince William was born at 9:03 pm on June 21, 1981 in London. With an ascendant at 27 Sagittarius, the ruler of the fifth house is lovely Venus at 20 Cancer. Venus applies to a square to Pluto at 21 Libra, and a trine to Uranus at 26 Scorpio. We do not count the inconjunct to Neptune at 23 Sagittarius. Only time will tell if Wills and Kate settle for producing “an heir and a spare.”

People today may choose not to manifest all the potential children in their chart by using various forms of birth control. By the same token, people may have quite a large family if they have Jupiter in the fifth house or strongly connected to the ruler of the fifth house.

Sometimes the fifth house is tenanted by some planets and each one describes each child in some way.

For grandchildren, look to the fifth house of the fifth house – or in other words the ninth house. The ninth house will especially describe the first grandchild. To find descriptions of successive grandchildren, go to the eleventh house for the second grandchild, then the first house for the third grandchild, then the third house, etc for each.

Try this out on people you know and see if it works for you.

To go to the source, read Rushman’s book:

“The Art of Predictive Astrology”  by Carol Rushman, Llewellyn Publications, 2002, 272 pages including index.

Entry filed under: Famous People, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Your Milky Way Horoscope Aug. 18-24, 2013 Your Milky Way Horoscope Aug. 25-31, 2013

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Faye Dancing Cloud  |  January 1, 2015 at 12:27 am

    So I was just looking at my 5th house (of children) to see whether it’s a stronger or lesser possibility that I could have a 3rd child, and I have 3 planets there: uranus, mars, and neptune, all in sagittarius (yes, I’m rather unconventional, and was a willful child as per A. Crowley’s description of Uranus in the 5th house). My 5th house ruler is Scorpio, and water signs ruling the 5th house indicate fertility. My younger daughter’s natal chart has Mars in her 5th house, in Sagittarius (she was born a week before my birthday), and my firstborn daughter’s natal Neptune is in her 5th house (she’s also a Pisces, ruled by Neptune), in Aquarius. The synastry with my daughters’ charts indicates I may have a 3rd child, indicated by Uranus.
    My partner’s 5th house is ruled by Capricorn. His natal Jupiter in Scorpio in his 3rd house is opposite Saturn in Gemini, squares Mercury and trines Venus in Leo. In medieval astrology, Mercury represents sons and Venus represents daughters. He has one son and one daughter, biologically. His Jupiter also opposes Saturn in Gemini, squares his ascendant in Virgo (conjunct my firstborn daughter’s ascendant in Virgo), opposes his midheaven in Gemini/Taurus cusp, and squares his moon and Mars in Aquarius in his sixth house, indicating he comes to be a father figure to my (three?) children.
    I found your article helpful, so I wanted to post my results here.

    Reply
    • 2. milkywaymaid  |  January 16, 2015 at 7:34 pm

      Thank you for that, Faye! I am still wondering if the part about the fifth house ruler’s progressions hitting your natal planets holds true for you, also? Best wishes if you are trying for a third child.

      Reply
      • 3. Faye Dancing Cloud  |  January 31, 2015 at 3:39 pm

        As per Rushman’s first step, Mars conjuncts Uranus in Sagittarius and sextiles Mercury and my Sun (both in Libra). That’s also potentially 3 children. I got so excited about my first 2 girls natal charts’ synastry with mine that I forgot to tell you about that part! Haha.

      • 4. milkywaymaid  |  September 7, 2016 at 6:24 pm

        Thanks for that — often indicators in a chart are repeated two or three times so that was just an example of repetition!

      • 5. desert scorpion  |  February 26, 2016 at 11:30 am

        The Rushman children method does not seem to apply to my husband or me. My natal 5th house is Cancer, with the Moon and Saturn in it. As the moon is my ruler, I checked to see if any planets apply to it. I only have 1 planet applying to my Moon, and that’s Saturn. The problem with that is that I’ve already had 3 children. I did notice that when I looked at Saturn separately, it does apply to three planets…Sun, Moon and Venus. And, I happen to have a boy, girl, girl. Interesting…as Saturn is not suppose to be my 5th ruler?

        Also, my moon is in a separating trine with Jupiter. Perhaps that’s at play here too?

        When I checked my husband’s natal chart, his natal 5th house is also Cancer, but with no planets in it. His Moon only has 1 applying planet too, Mars (which happens to be my ruling sign, so the Rushman marriage method is right in this regard). And, all 3 of our children are his!!! No funny business here. 🙂

        Technically, we should only have 1 child according to Rushman. However, something about our charts breaks the rules. Any thoughts?

  • 6. Esra Gc  |  April 16, 2015 at 6:05 pm

    Thank you for the article. I also checked for myself. 5th house ruler Gemini is applying to Saturn and Uranus.I have one son and another one is on the way (a girl) but i also had one abortion in past… I have Jupiter in my 5th, applies to 3 planets. which one i should count on?

    Meanwhile, my husband’s 5th house ruler applying to one planet ( goes without saying, my children’s father is the same :))

    Reply
    • 7. milkywaymaid  |  September 7, 2016 at 6:25 pm

      You might still have three children in the end, you never know!

      Reply
    • 8. milkywaymaid  |  November 25, 2017 at 8:13 pm

      It is interesting that Gemini is your fifth house — I think the fact that you have a mutable sign there indicates that there is more flexibility about how many children you will have. In other words, you might have as many as you choose to have. While a fixed sign there would be harder to overcome if it denied children or indicated difficulties conceiving — and a cardinal sign would move heaven and earth to have a wanted child or limit fertility, depending on what their WILL is.

      Reply
  • 9. Ahmar Qamar  |  August 29, 2015 at 4:18 pm

    Sun Cancer 24° 23′ in house 2
    Moon Capricorn 2° 38′ in house 7
    Mercury Cancer 22° 47′ in house 2
    Venus Leo 21° 27′ in house 3
    Mars Leo 18° 57′ in house 3
    Jupiter Gemini 27° 2′ in house 1
    Saturn Capricorn 9° 34′ in house 7
    Uranus Capricorn 2° 28′ in house 7
    Neptune Capricorn 10° 37′ in house 7
    Pluto Scorpio 12° 22′ in house 5
    Ascendant Gemini 24° 41′ in house 1
    Midheaven Pisces 15° 29′ in house 10
    Node True Aquarius 26° 6′ in house 9
    2 Cancer 19° 44′ in house 2
    3 Leo 15° 51′ in house 3
    4 Virgo 15° 29′ in house 4
    5 Libra 18° 51′ in house 5
    6 Scorpio 22° 57′ in house 6

    how to predict by this how many child i have

    Reply
    • 10. milkywaymaid  |  September 7, 2016 at 6:22 pm

      Hard to say whether you have just one (applying sextile from 5th House ruler Venus to natal Jupiter) or three (applying semi-sextiles, a minor aspect, to both Sun and Mercury) but at any rate, all of them should be smart and beautiful!!

      Reply
  • 11. desert scorpion  |  February 26, 2016 at 11:18 am

    The Rushman children method does not seem to apply to my husband or me. My natal 5th house is Cancer, with the Moon and Saturn in it. As the moon is my ruler, I checked to see if any planets apply to it. I only have 1 planet applying to my Moon, and that’s Saturn. The problem with that is that I’ve already had 3 children. I did notice that when I looked at Saturn separately, it does apply to three planets…Sun, Moon and Venus. And, I happen to have a boy, girl, girl. Interesting…as Saturn is not suppose to be my 5th ruler?

    Also, my moon is in a separating trine with Jupiter. Perhaps that’s at play here too?

    When I checked my husband’s natal chart, his natal 5th house is also Cancer, but with no planets in it. His Moon only has 1 applying planet too, Mars (which happens to be my ruling sign, so the Rushman marriage method is right in this regard). And, all 3 of our children are his!!! No funny business here. 🙂

    Technically, we should only have 1 child according to Rushman. However, something about our charts breaks the rules. Any thoughts?

    Reply
    • 12. milkywaymaid  |  September 7, 2016 at 6:14 pm

      Well, obviously the fact that the Moon aspect is separating kind of removes that as an active rule for that House. Also it seems clear that Saturn is acting as House Ruler due to its occupation in the House, where it is working just fine and dandy!!
      Thanks for this info and your question, as astrology is always putting cases that do not seem to follow one or another set of ‘rules.’

      Reply
  • 13. Jordan Smiya  |  April 24, 2017 at 2:22 am

    I know this is an old post, but I figure since it is more informative than most I might get some answers! My question is about having Pisces as my 5th house with my traditional ruler being Jupiter. I have 3 aspects, but the only one that isn’t separating is the square to my moon in the 5th house. Would this mean that I’m likely to have one child or would the fact that Jupiter is my ruler mean the possibility of more children?

    Reply
    • 14. milkywaymaid  |  November 25, 2017 at 8:04 pm

      Well, I have Pisces ruling my fifth house too, Jordan, and I don’t have kids but I think that might be due to the fact that both rulers of Pisces, Neptune and Jupiter, are retrograde in my natal chart. So that is why I think the direction of the ruler natally might have more to do with the strength of the aspects, you see what I mean?
      Pisces is normally pretty fertile as a Sun sign or as a fifth house, so you will likely have at least one child — the one signified by the Moon aspect. That’s my quick impression anyway.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


SUBJECT: Find Unlimited Books for Your Ebook Reader

Hi, If you want Unlimited Access and Unlimited Downloads for your cool, new Ebook Reader, you're gonna love this! http://www.Free-eBooks.net/5191-0-5-6.html There's a huge online library that gives you access to ALL formats for any Ebook Reader! It provides unlimited reading for Amazon Kindle, BN's Nook, SONY Reader and, of course, Apple's latest, The iPad. They've got thousands of books, fiction and non-fiction,for you to choose from. I just thought it was amazing how much free content, help and information was available -- all at the click of a mouse! Again, it's at: http://www.Free-eBooks.net/5191-0-5-6.html To grab your Ebook format, you simply enroll as a V.I.P.,with a nominal donation to support admin of the site and service to get complete 1st Class treatment and Unlimited Access and Downloads (for a year or even a lifetime). Hope this helps you load up your Ebook Reader, from Milky Way Maid P.S. You can also register at NO cost for a Standard Membership that just lets you read books online in any Internet Browser and download up to 5 ebooks in PDF format every month. Best to look here, for all the details: http://www.Free-eBooks.net/5191-0-5-6.html

Announcing …

Additional Options

Categories

A gift to my lovely readers —

As a special gift to my readers I thought you might enjoy some background music. A terrific writer and geek found these archived radio recordings of the Beatles for a Swedish radio show way back when. He cleaned them up a bit and edited them, and here they are. Five songs in cool condition. So turn up the volume alright already.

_uacct = “UA-3989433-1″; urchinTracker();

Please visit a new friend

Hi, The people at throwbackfootballjerseys.net have kindly added me on their Blog Awards listing. Thanks so much for the link, Sheila! Please visit them at the address above or at their index page at http://throwbackfootballjerseys.net/index.php. Lots and lots of high-quality clothing with beautiful renditions of sports logos. THE place to go for team wear for you and your pet. Thanks again.